CHESHIRE EAST COUNCIL

Minutes of a meeting of the **General Appeals Sub Committee** held on Tuesday, 5th July, 2022 in the Committee Suite 1,2 & 3, Westfields, Middlewich Road, Sandbach CW11 1HZ

PRESENT

Councillor S Edgar (Chair)

Councillors P Butterill, H Faddes and J Weatherill

OFFICERS IN ATTENDANCE

Sarah Baxter, Democratic Services
Joanne Bowkett, Admissions, Transport and Fair Access Team Manager
Susan Kenyon, Solicitor, Adults and Education, People Team
Ian Marshall, Operations Support Manager, Transport

1 APPOINTMENT OF CHAIR

RESOLVED

That Councillor S Edgar be appointed as Chair of the meeting.

2 APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE

Apologies for absence were received from Councillor D Murphy.

3 DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

There were no declarations of interest.

4 PUBLIC SPEAKING TIME/OPEN SESSION

There were no members of the public present.

5 EXCLUSION OF THE PRESS AND PUBLIC

RESOLVED

That the press and public be excluded from the virtual meeting during consideration of the following item pursuant to Section 100(A)4 of the Local Government Act 1972 as amended on the grounds that it involves the likely discussion of exempt information as defined in Paragraphs 1 and 2 of Part 1 of Schedule 12A to the Local Government Act 1972 and the public interest would not be served in publishing the information.

6 SCHOOL TRANSPORT APPEAL

The Sub-Committee considered an appeal against a decision of the Council not to offer assisted school transport.

The Sub-Committee heard the appeal based on the written and oral evidence of the Presenting Officer, who detailed the local authority's case, and the written and oral evidence of the appellant and the appellant's supporters. Members of the Sub-Committee asked questions by way of clarification.

The Presenting Officer, the appellant and the appellant's supporters withdrew from the meeting, following which the Sub-Committee reached its decision.

RESOLVED

That the appeal be upheld with travel assistance awarded until the end of the 2022 Autumn Term.

The meeting commenced at 10.00 am and concluded at 11.10 am

Councillor S Edgar (Chair)